Home » Admissions



This Admissions Policy should be considered in conjunction with the Firhouse Community College Code of Behaviour and the Education Act 1998. The rationale for this policy is to provide fair, transparent and effective criteria for admission of students to this College in compliance with legislative requirements. The procedures outlined in this policy may, from time to time, as circumstances demand, be varied or altered.

Firhouse Community College was established in 1982 to meet the second-level, educational needs of the local community. As a co-educational, non-selective, multi-denominational school, we believe in the principle of education for all.  We value the uniqueness of each member of our school community.  We are committed to equality in all aspects of school life.  Firhouse Community College welcomes all students for whom the school can provide an appropriate education.

Within the parameters of Department of Education and Skills regulations and programmes, the ethos and mission statement of Dublin and Dun  Laoghaire Education and Training Board and of this College, and the funding, resources and places available, the Board of Management supports the principles of

  • Inclusiveness, particularly with reference to the enrolment of students with disability or other special educational needs
  • Equality with respect to maximum access and participation in the school.
  • Respect for a diversity of traditions, values, beliefs, languages and ways of life in Irish society.

Working together as a school community, the Board of Management, parents, staff and students aim to provide the best possible environment which will allow each student to develop intellectually, physically, morally, socially and spiritually so as they will be able to fulfil their role in society.


School Programmes

Firhouse Community College offers a three-year Junior Cycle programme leading to the Junior Certificate Examination of the Department of Education and Skills. The school also offers the Junior Certificate School Programme. Transition Year is compulsory for all students except those who follow the Leaving Certificate Applied Programme.  As well as the established two year Leaving Certificate course, the school also offers the Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme.


Download the Full Admissions Policy here